Review: Scarlet

13206760Book Overview:

Title: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2)

(If you would like more information on the first book of this series, Cinder, visit https://transitionreads.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/spotlight-cinder/.)

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: Teen Futuristic/Romance

Publication Info: Feiwel & Friends, 2013

Synopsis: In this second installment of the series, Cinder must escape from imprisonment and find the one person who may hold the key to her past: Michelle Benoit. However, Benoit has mysteriously disappeared–kidnapped, according to her granddaughter, Scarlet, who teams with Wolf, a streetfighter, to find her.

Book Review:

Overall Rating: 4.5/5

As sequels go, Scarlet was an exciting and well-written continuation of the series. Rather than focusing on the main character of the first novel, Cinder, Meyer introduces us to a whole group of new characters with humorous and realistic personalities. This, along with an action and twist-filled plot, developed the series so much more and kept me engaged. I’m much more invested after reading this book!

Plot:

First of all, I am so grateful to Meyer for including timelines and perspectives of various characters instead of giving the reader only one point of view and plot line–to me, this variety automatically makes a book more interesting and engaging. However, I have read other books/series that have taken a similar approach and only became confusing and not easy to follow as a result. For me, this problem did not occur with Scarlet whatsoever; it made me addicted, and it was extremely difficult for me to step away from this book.

Also, because of certain characters and plot events that I will not spoil, Scarlet was much darker and more violent than Cinder. I can’t see very many finding issue with this, but you have been forewarned. As for me, I love the dark and violent [insert sinister laughter here]. If Meyer hadn’t included this, the book (and series) would seem too sugar-coated and unrealistic. Well done, Meyer!

Finally, my only criticism with the book lies not surprisingly in the use of instalove, or extremely quick romance. To be fair, I was rooting for Scarlet and Wolf from the very beginning of the plot, but things progressed much more rapidly than I would have liked. I personally enjoy suspense and tension rather than instant gratification when it comes to romance, but not everyone feels that way. Please don’t let this stop you from reading the series.

Characters:

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about the characters of this series, because Meyer uses such fresh, realistic, and funny people throughout.

Cinder remains as awesome and sarcastic here as in the first book, and though the reader clearly sees her feelings for Kai, she doesn’t fall into whiny, mopey romantic territory. Cinder also grows as a character through delving into her past, which I really enjoyed reading.

Scarlet has my favorite personality traits in a character: impulsive, fierce, and real. From the very first pages, I knew I would love reading her perspective and plot line, and I was not disappointed (instalove aside).

Wolf, to me, provided a well-written and developed version of the mysterious love interest, not only because of his past, but also (and more so) because of his clumsy, awkward shyness. Some “shy” characters aren’t truly shy, but more elusive and guarded; while Wolf certainly is guarded, there’s more to him than secrets. I really appreciated Meyer’s handling of this character.

And I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Thorne. He is an amazing comic relief and dashing scoundrel character. He brings so much to the book, and I can’t wait to see how Meyer will use him in the future.

Writing Quality:

As Meyer keeps building this series, the world and plot become more complicated, which I attribute to her creative genius. The reader has experienced life in various parts of this world (Asia, Europe), and I look forward to seeing the cultures and futuristic design of other parts of this world, perhaps even the planet Luna. From this book, the reader learns that the relationship between Earth and Luna, between Queen Levana and Princess Selene, is not so simple, and this will keep any reader engaged, invested, and ready for more.

 

Who do I recommend this to? 

  • Fans of the Divergent and Legend series
  • Fans of fairy tale interpretations
  • Futuristic/science-fiction readers
  • Romance readers
  • High school, college, and beyond (warning: violence, death)

 

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

